Easy Lemon Meringue Pie

IMG_1571opt

The other day I wanted to make dessert for some Spanish friends coming over for dinner and all I had were lemons.  Realizing you can definitely make more than lemonade with lemons, off to find a Lemon Meringue Pie recipe! But as a short-cut queen, I didn’t want to make a typical pie crust and wondered if a graham cracker crust would work! And it did! Of course, here in Spain, there are no graham crackers but they have Marie cookies.  I think you’ve seen those once or twice at the supermarket. So into the food processor you go, with some sugar and cinnamon and we are set!

Then I patted it all down with melted butter in my springform pan. Springform pans are amazing! You can bake a cake in it with perfect sides without flipping the darn thing.  You can make pies in it that sets beautifully and is a showstopper for guests. I’m been using pie pans for no good reason!

IMG_1568opt

Then I followed this amazing recipe. And although I had a 10 inch springform pan, the proportions were perfect. I didn’t realize how easy it was until I was finished!

Next time you have lemons, don’t make lemonade; make pie!!

For the cracker crust:

2 cups of cracker crumbs

¼ cup white sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

¼ cup melted butter

Mix all ingredients and pat down in a greased springform pan.

Then follow this recipe

(To make the meringue peaks, after spreading the meringue topping, dab the top at various places with the back of a spoon before baking.)

Leave a Reply

